Lost in the Mommy Time Warp

It’s almost two, and while I’m sure by the time this gets posted ten more hours will have passed, I’m looking back at my day so far and attempting to solve a mystery.**

Where did the day go?

I meant to go to the gym or the park this morning.

Neither happened.

I meant to load my dishwasher.

Didn’t happen.

I meant to do a load of laundry.

I did get that in, but it took two hours from when I filled the washer with water to actually closing the lid and starting it.

I’m trying to remember exactly what did happen today, and how it managed to encompass six hours of time.

Was I in a Mommy Coma?

Perhaps it was Opposite Needs Day.  You know, where you feed one child, then the other is hungry, then the first one needs a diaper change, and then the other wants to play trains with you, and then the first one grabs a book and plops in your lap and wants you to read to them.  Then repeat until six hours have gone by.

There was definitely a lot of that going on.

If it isn't broken... do not attempt to fix.

My Lil Diva also exhibited the “You Will Hold Me and Not Put Me Down or I Will Scream” syndrome for two hours straight.

Combine that to the “Oh My God, My Children Are Happy –  Don’t Move or It May Break” and I could easily see six hours slipping away.

Never mind.  Mystery solved.

**Note: Wow.. Ten hours later, ready to post. I have the skills of a psychic with the mind of an amnesiac…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost in the Mommy Time Warp

  1. marinasleeps says:

    Let me guess … where you stuck seating there hoping they would stay that way?
    I do this so much or I tip toe around them so I can get things done.
    Hey who is the adult here?!

Leave a Reply

