Winning the Lottery

Something happened today.

And the winning combination is...

Something so rare, so out of the ordinary, that you might have a better chance at winning the lottery.

Today, I had an honest to goodness sick day.

So what is a sick day?

According to wiki, it is:

English

Noun

sick day (plural sick days)

  1. A paid personal day intended to be used due to illness either for recuperation or medical treatment.

While in theory this is factually accurate, it does not pertain to my (and many of our) situations: that of a Stay At Home Parent.

Instead, this is what it should say:

Noun

sick day as a Stay At Home Parent- (plural sick days as a SAHP)

  1. Typically an unpaid day just like every other intended to be used due to illness either for recuperation or medical treatment, but in actuality involves taking care of your child/ren like you do every day and resorting to using the television to baby-sit for you.  If any child is under two, you’re screwed.
  2. A rare event – like a snowstorm in Miami – where the working spouse STAYS HOME and actually TAKES CARE of the children with minimal if any effort fromsick SAHP.  Allows the exhausted SAHP to sleep in (after a horrible night of tossing and turning with every muscle down to their toes aching), lay in bed, and read the occasional blog when their headache isn’t threatening to explode their sinuses.

    The kids jumped at the chance to have CG to themselves for a day.

    While SAHP might be called upon to help, this is minimal and typically only when one child has melted down or needs to be put down for a nap.  Or to jog working parent’s memory of where he could have possibly left the baby girl’s shoes earlier in the morning because he doesn’t have A Typical Place for Everything and lets her eat her socks. But mostly, SAHP can rest and take it easy.

So today.. I got to experience definition #2, for the first time since I was Six Weeks Pregnant With the Flu And Had a Two Year Old where I received exactly ONE of these sick days, followed by six more of the first definition.  Followed by morning sickness.

I would like to thank CG for giving me today.  Because I needed it.

My head feels like it has done a few too many rounds...

Here’s hoping tonight/tomorrow is greatly improved and that The Headache That Feels Like I Spent All Night at Fight Club and Was Bludgeoned Repeatedly does not return.

Because I don’t think I’ve ever had two observed sick days in a row since I’ve become a Stay at Home Mom.  And if I did, I was too sick to remember….

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, New Definitions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winning the Lottery

  1. Wow! That’s an awesome husband. Can’t remember when I got to have a sick day. An actual one. Yeah… never happened.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Kelly K says:

      Yes, he is quite awesome. 🙂 I am lucky that my husband has a flexible schedule and a job that builds in a lot of sick/personal days (which are the days you must take for maternity/paternity leave if you wish to be paid, hence the preponderance of them). I have taken two real “sick days” since I have had children. I really needed more when I had the flu during week 6 of my first trimester, but he for some reason “had” to be at work those days.

      All other times I’ve been sick, I just have to suck it up and somehow not kill my kids (particularly if the skull is pounding) or let them kill each other. Both can be a challenge worthy of climbing Everest.

      This was like a mild flu: it had all the symptoms, but they weren’t as severe and they only lasted about 24 hours. I wonder if it’s because I had the flu shot several weeks ago, but it’s supposed to take a full month to render full immunity.

      Of course then The Boy ran a fever that night, and he’s woken up the last few nights with The Cough that plagued me weeks ago.

      Whether illness or allergies, it’s been an “interesting” month… Thanks for the loyal reading. 🙂

  2. marinasleeps says:

    You lucky lucky woman. My husband hates it when I am sick. I gotta Man Up when I am sick. However when he is sick, its rub my head, bring me something to drink/eat, I’m cold and you bring me a blanket, can you massage my arm … yada yada yada.

    • Kelly K says:

      While I am very lucky to have such an awesome hubby, he too is reduced to Big Baby when sick and suddenly I have three children. During this time, if he is at all responsible for the children, it is only long enough for me to use the bathroom, or take fastest shower imaginable.

      Compared to ME being sick, the only thing he “took care of me” on was bringing me some ibuprofen. I had to make my own food. And we needed groceries but he thought it would be too difficult taking BOTH children so he left The Boy with me right about the time I was ready to go back to bed.

      Now I was feeling a bit better by this point, but I was still very tired. And he took 90 minutes to grab under 20 items, because he also took his mom on an errand and grabbed dinner for himself without asking what I’d like….

      So awesome, but far from perfect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

