Bon Voyage to the Mimi

Picture the most dejected, pathetic look.  Complete with a sad pouty face.

This was what Chase displayed as we dropped my mother off at the airport this morning.

“I miss my Mimi. I want her to stay at my house,” he informed me.

Lil Diva, picked up on the mood and whined.

The Pecan Snatcher strikes again while making Mimi's Famous Sticky Rolls.

While it was sad, I know it warmed my mother’s heart to hear that her presence would be greatly missed.

And not just for Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls.

The way I was able to go on a real date with CG will be sorely missed.

The way I was able to take just one child out and enjoy one on one special time with them will be sorely missed.

The way I was able to sleep in while CG went on a run will be sorely missed.

The way we had a chance to talk to each other and share the little moments that make being a mother/grandparent so wonderful will be sorely missed.

The way Mimi lavished undivided attention on each child will be sorely missed.

As I drove away from the airport, Kyra began crying in earnest, mad that her Mimi was gone and could no longer make faces at her.

We miss you already Mimi.

Chase is already talking about your next visit.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in My Mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

