Stupid Flies.. You Go Squish Now.

I have at least 3 blogs in progress of being written, but lack the brain capacity to actually complete any of them to my satisfaction.  So instead, in an effort to actually get a full eight hours of sleep tonight (children permitting), I will type down a fraction of the thoughts that are buzzing around in a my brain right now.  They circle around like pesky flies, keeping me awake when I so desperately wish to be in La-La Land. Perhaps typing my thoughts out will be cathartic and put those damn bugs to sleep.

Or squish them.

I need to restart the timer on the dryer so the baby clothes that take forever to dry on the low heat setting (cursed dryer) do not remain wet all night then necessitate rewashing tomorrow.

I need to tackle the guest room cleaning so my mother has a place to sleep on Tuesday.

And the guest bathroom. Where at least now only a partial laundry pile remains.

I understand why blueberries and sweet potatoes were used as dyes in olden times. They are a major Pain In The Ass (or PITA) to get out of baby clothes. And the favorite shirt I made the mistake of wearing around banshee and her reflux.

My baby girl turns one year in 2 days. I can’t believe a year has passed since I was Gigantor the Gestanator (yes, I am aware those words do not exist, spell check) during the hottest summer on record.

I’m SO glad I’m not pregnant in my third trimester. I could never get a comfortable sleeping position to last more than five minutes.

I need to buy stuff for banshee’s party.

I can’t forget The Tackler has his first dentist appointment on Wednesday. Please let it go well. Please let it go well. PLEASE let it go well.

Please don’t let Poopapalooza show up tonight. Or at the gym. Or tomorrow night. After the successful going on his own I was so thrilled about here, he decided to fill his diaper yesterday after his nap and hid under his firetruck bed to do it.  It’s one of the few times he has deliberately done that in months.

Please don’t let this setback remain.  He’s so very very close….

I need to buy more diapers for nap time. Because he will not wake up if he has to go and I do not wish to add that much laundry to my to do list.

Sometimes I wish I could sleep that deeply again and not have every cough or cry jerk me out of my slumber. Or every time CG moves in his sleep.

Hmm.. sleep.. That sounds good.

Maybe my brain can shut up now.

Maybe.

Stupid bug. You go squish now.

Night all.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in sleep deprivation, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stupid Flies.. You Go Squish Now.

  1. G-Ma says:

    I wish for you all tonight, a great 8 hrs. sleep, so Sleep Tight, Don’t let the bedbugs Bite. Sweet Dreams everyone, just like Chase’s picture which tells a lot of words. Love you all -} =}}} |!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Hi there,
    Thank you for your thoughtful comments on my blog. I just read your story about ttc Chase. First, well done. Second, I could so relate to the taunting by all the bellies everywhere as we tried to create, then lost, then create, then lost, our babies. And reading your words about not wanting to write certain things b/c family reads it and not wanting family to see certain things….and the part about losing brain cells as a mom…and, yea…related to a lot. You do a good job capturing reality as a mom.

    p.s. we once thought of moving to austin. I’m jealous of your winters.

    S

Leave a Reply

