You Don’t Want to Make Her Angry…

NUDGE.

Once again, Shaft the Cat has claimed His Thrown by curling up on my chest as I finally recline on the couch, laptop in place.

I love him. And my other cat MacGyver.

But between the laptop and a cat, I feel as though I’m covered with a heated blanket while it’s 85-100 degrees outside.  If blankets purred.

Hmmm, I wonder if Shaft can read, because after typing that he extricated himself, gave me an indignant look, and walked away.

He’s probably still holding a grudge from last summer.  Because it was over 100 degrees for 66 days.  While I was pregnant in my 3rd trimester. And I could only tolerate the hot purring blanket for about a minute before getting overheated.

I still feel guilty about that.

My poor cats feel so neglected since Lil Diva came into this world, they have done things I never thought possible.

Like hang out with Lil Diva, as shown in this blog.

Where they used to hide from the chaos of The Tackler, they now – so desperate for a pat or for their tail to be eaten – seek out the chaos.

My son really wanted to play with me again today. Upstairs. So badly in fact, that he picked up all of his Trio blocks so I could bring Lil Diva to The Forbidden Zone.

It was the best thing I could have done.

You see, my little banshee is still very cranky.  She won’t eat the foods I know she loves.  Except for Gerber’s Lil Crunchies (in any flavor).  To get her to eat food, I have to give her Crunchies every few bites or she gets very very angry.  Which causes a coughing fit. Which makes her angrier. Which makes her cough more.. Etc etc.

So right now, I really don’t want to make her angry.

The Tackler gets a "brilliant" idea.

So allowing her to explore that Far Far Away land known as The Second Floor, was pure brilliance on my… well, on the Tackler’s part.

The Game Room was hers to explore – where all of her brother’s chokable toys are supposed to be along with stairs she could topple down if so inclined. This is why the it is typically Forbidden. Both necessitated vigilance on my part.

But the true entertainment was found in The Tackler’s bedroom.  As we first saw in the blog Monkeys Jumping on the Bed, Lil Diva LOVES this room because it not only has a firetruck bed for her brother to execute complicated maneuvers involving flight which she finds highly entertaining, but it has a twin mattress on the floor just begging for her to climb upon.

What happened next was so amazing, so unexpected, I never imagined it possible in the realm of this world.

I had… fun!

We played in his room for forty-five minutes.

All of us.

Me. Lil Diva the Part-Time Banshee. My son the Tackling Toddler.

Without a single Time Out.

I didn’t even have to raise my voice or threaten to banish his trains.

I had entered… The Twilight Zone.

No, not the Vampire one.  The old TV show one.

It also gave me a chance to practice my photography “skills.” I need to get to sleep, so hopefully these photos will properly showcase the rare circumstances where the stars aligned and caused my son to listen….

The Tackler and Diva sitting on the bed…
Tackler plopped down and bumped his head.

Lil Diva asked the Doggie and the Doggie said,

NO MORE brothers jumping off the bed!

I’m sure his super power will be back again tomorrow…

And MacGyver… Instead of hiding in a quiet room and taking a nap, he lurked in the corner behind a chair in the Tackler’s room, and watched most of the crazy chaos…

Because he knows this is New Normal and the best way to get his ears scratched now.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Don’t Want to Make Her Angry…

  1. mc6pack says:

    The “New Normal” is a great way to put it. Kyra and the cat look like they’re playing Twister.

    • Kelly K says:

      LOL – You know…. They do look like they’re playing twister. In reality, that’s Kyra’s favorite move: straddle, align oneself correctly, then plop down and trap your prey. She also applies it on her brother when he’s in Time Out.

      The fact that Shaft had yet to run away is a true testament of how starved he was for attention. Because really, Twister isn’t his thing.

      Thanks for reading Chase!

Leave a Reply

