The Snuggle Trap

Banshee woke up coughing thirty minutes into her nap. She was exhausted. Pissed off.

So I laid in bed with her.

She fell asleep.

I am now trapped, but in the best way possible.

The Tackling Toddler will soon awaken from his first nap of the week. And by then it will be too late to extricate myself and put her back in her crib.

To stay or go?

I’m staying. Because these moments are rare, and I’ve already been down too long. The Banshee would be furious if I woke her up.

There’s nothing quite like holding a snuggly warm baby, even if she is more toddler now.

Besides, my left arm is asleep.

But I hear The Tackler now… Better savor the few minutes I have before he knocks on my door…

Disclaimer: written using iPod app for first time so please excuse any odd typos..

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Snuggle Trap

  1. I L-O-V-E that. When they fall asleep in your arms. You can kiss them and breathe them in. Good for you for forgetting about everything else that needs to get done and just enjoying!

    • Kelly K says:

      I love it too. She typically falls asleep after nursing, but if I left her there, The Terrible Tackler would “accidentally” wake her up within five minutes. Plus I have to load the dishwasher, and do laundry, and sweep the floors, and vacuum, and… yeah.

      So it was nice to have a valid reason to lay down, cuddle, and enjoy my little one during a rare Two Kids Napping At the SAME Time.

  2. mc6pack says:

    Classic dead-arm. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

