Monkeys Jumping on the Bed

My children are taking a much needed nap. Having typed that, I expect one (or both) of them to wake up promptly…

I am anxiously awaiting the ability to somehow split myself in half and then have the missing halves regenerate. Perhaps every night we could plug into our collective and share the day’s memories.

Hmm.. Two wouldn’t be enough. I need one to sleep, one to do chores, and one to play with the kids. Ideally two to play with the kids for one on one time.

Nothing pulls at my heart more than when The Tackler looks at me with those blue eyes and says, “I want you to play with me, Mommy.”

Daddy's Home

Because if Daddy is home, I never hear that.

So when I’m the recipient (because I’m probably the only one around other than Lil Diva), I really want to do it.

But many times I can’t. Today, he wanted me to play with him upstairs, territory not friendly to Lil Diva, who was creating havoc on the 1st floor.

After 10 minutes of questions like “Why can’t you come play with me?” the baby blues won out.

I lugged her upstairs.

Our play time then (by necessity) consisted of picking up his toys, as the game room upstairs is where all of his “This is a Choking Hazard” toys are (supposed to be) regulated to. The goal was to pick them up before Lil Diva decided they looked tasty and avoid the cries of discontent that are evoked when new and teething unfriendly toys are accessible to her.

It worked surprisingly well. Mostly because she was fascinated by a “new place” that she hadn’t been allowed to explore in months. She really had no interest (this time) in going down the stairs. Going up things is far more intriguing at this point.

Eventually she wandered into The Tackler’s room.

And was ecstatic.

Because his room has not one, but TWO beds. He has his firetruck toddler bed (which is still there because we need to clean out our garage to make space for it), and a twin mattress on the floor (so he’s nice and close to the ground while he learns to not fall out).

She made a beeline for the mattress and immediately climbed up onto it. The Tackler, naturally, had to join her and then both monkeys were jumping on the bed.

Tackler Monkey then demonstrated to Diva Monkey how much fun the firetruck bed was.

I swear, you could see the wheels turning in her head. She immediately abandoned the mattress for the higher bed.

Tackler in Sept 2008 when he first got fire truck bed.

It took her about  two minutes (and a lot of jabbering that if translated would amount to much baby cursing), but she managed to climb up.

This is the same bed that The Tackler had some difficulty climbing into at 19 months when we transitioned him from the crib.

I don’t think that is going to be a problem for her.

Once up in the bed she immediately began bouncing on it, just like her brother. Perhaps not quite so high, though. 🙂 She also babbled up a storm (this excited chatter she gets whenever what she is doing is deemed Very Cool, like climbing up high).  Both children pin-balled around on the bed for the next 5-10 minutes (while The Tackler also climbed to the top of it) and I kept careful watch in case Lil Diva decided to take a head dive over the edge (she didn’t.. this time).

I love watching them play together. They feed on each others energy and it just keeps looping as they act crazy together. If only it didn’t typically end with Lil Diva crying. Thankfully, this time it was avoided by having to leave for my hot yoga class.

I wish I’d had time to grab my camera. I didn’t dare leave them alone for the 20 seconds a mad dash for it would’ve taken.

Because sometimes, you don’t need the full five minutes….

**Only half of this blog was written before someone woke up. It had to be finished post bedtime.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monkeys Jumping on the Bed

  1. ppjewellery says:

    Hi there,
    my name is Leah,
    I really like your post on Monkeys on the bed, it has made me chuckle into my coffee this morning, your children sound alot like mine. Only my children are alot older, my yougest being Phoebe aged 4 , going on fourteen aka” lil’ miss bossy” in our house and the eldest Joshua aged 9 years . I fondly remember those days of my two kids using the beds for a trampline, and well to be honest, my youngest still has a sneaky go while i’m not looking.
    I am also a full time mum , my little girl will start full time school in september, and although I am looking forward to having five mins to myself again, I’m a little sad as all of those funny times we had will be cut short to a few hours before bed, the dodgy questions that I try to avoid on a daily basis, that constantly amuse my husband an I in the evening as we sit down to relax, the look of terror on my face as I notice she has been into my make-up bag, the lil’ I love you mummy’s, Really going to miss all that.
    My son is already at the PLEASE don’t kiss me in the school play-ground stage of his life. So it’s really nice to read posts like this one, thanks for making my morning.

  2. Kelly K says:

    Leah – Thank you so much for commenting! I love that warm fuzzy feeling I get when someone enjoys what I’ve written. 🙂

    I write for three reasons: sanity (because I love it and it’s a wonderful outlet and there is just something about sharing it with others that are going through the same trials/joys/ordeals), for my family (who lives far away and misses out on the daily capers), and for posterity. Because with Mommy Brain I will forget all of those little things, like my two monkeys if I don’t have it written down somewhere.

    Feel free to subscribe to my blog or check back frequently as I do attempt to post every day. I like the idea of being the chuckle to go with the morning caffeine. 🙂

    Children permitting.

    ** When you say things like make up bag and little girl in the same sentence, it makes me feel like I’m looking into the future. 🙂

    *** I would like to state that my monkeys on the bed came by that skill naturally. My sister and I used to do flips from the dresser onto the bed and other various things that would terrify my mother to learn the truth about. They haven’t gotten to that point…. Yet.

  3. Pingback: You Don’t Want to Make Her Angry… | Dances with Chaos

  4. Pingback: Blogging with Children | Dances with Chaos

  5. Carrie says:

    I remember those days. My oldest was always left to fend for herself while I was dealing with her sister. It’s so difficult when you want to spend time with both but physically can’t

  6. Ilana says:

    Aww… this is sweet. I can’t tell you how many instances something has happened and I want to take a picture or video so badly but I can’t because I will miss it. I have to believe being in the moment is worth not capturing the memory.

  7. The black and white photos of the kids took my breath away!
    Stunning!

  8. MamaRobinJ says:

    Love that you had to finish this after nap time. What is it about saying or typing those words?!

    I sometimes get the “play with me, mama” sad eyes too – breaks my heart.

  9. May says:

    You transported me back about 17 years! You have captured the time of life– which will eventually be a gift to you and to the kids because the years fly and the memory fades.

Leave a Reply

