Playing Hooky

I’m playing hooky.

I’m sitting in my gym’s cafe, blogging and drinking a Mountain Dew.

Ahh… the sweet elixir of life.  It is my version of a double chocolate mocha latte with extra foam…. or whatever you coffee drinkers consume.  I can’t stand the taste of the stuff no matter how much cream or sugar or chocolate you add.

This a very rare occurrence (the playing of hooky, not the Mountain Dew drinking). I am an admitted gym junkie. I love my workouts. I love the way they make me feel. I love how they typically give me more energy. I love that they helped me lose baby weight. I’m in better shape now than I was 10 years ago. I live for the group fitness classes. Sadly, today my Zumba teacher is off to a Zumba convention and her sub (who’s class I’ve also taken) is one of the weaker instructors.

And boring.

My plan was to do hot yoga instead and get a nice stretch in.

It was not to be. My children had other plans and I arrived here 15 minutes too late for the class.

With no interesting class options, I was left with a dilemma. Work out on my own? Or take a Me Day.

I chose me.

I’m still recovering from Monday’s night of 4.5 hours of sleep. Last night, Chase woke up multiple times. I woke up at 5:30 AM with a meat cleaver splitting my head in half.

Figuratively speaking.

My body has that “if you don’t get some rest soon, you WILL get sick” feeling.

So I hit the steam room, the showers, and the cafe.

I’m savoring my Dew.

It is my hope that this small break with somehow help me be a better mother. Monday was fine, but I’ve been quick to anger the last few days as my body yells at me for not replenishing sleep lost. My children haven’t done a dual nap since then, so I haven’t had 5 minutes at home to think.

Chase gets a Time Out for being mean to Kyra, so she sits on his lap.

I’ve discovered if I can get at least 30 minutes to do whatever I want without interruption, I’m significantly happier. I’m ready to take on the Poopapalooza with a sense of humor, instead of dismay. I’m ready to laugh at Chase as he runs bottomless from the bathroom instead of punish him. I’m ready to tickle Kyra out of a whiny funk instead of dream of running to a dark room, putting ear plugs in my ears, and falling into a deep oblivious sleep.

I love my children. I do. Even when I want to strangle them and wonder why on earth did I want these two little monsters so badly, I still love them.

But sometimes…. sometimes I don’t have the patience I should, particularly when I have a splitting headache or extremely sleep deprived.

So I blog. Because if the sleep option is denied me, at least my brain can be jump started from the mommy brain stale stagnation and I can escape the rut of just being a Mom. I can be me.

I can write.

I might even miss those little monsters as I ponder all of the Blogs To Be Written.

Because they are a great source of material.  🙂 And the horror stories are more entertaining when you aren’t in the middle of them.

At least for the moment.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, Poopapalooza, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

