Lil Diva is 11 Months Old and the Tackling Thespian

Lil Diva is officially 11 months old today!
Now I really have to get that party planned.Kyra picks up the ball at 11 months

I talked at length of her current milestones IN THIS BLOG 4 days ago. One thing to add: she likes to “head bang” (shake her head constantly) to certain music, particularly while playing her piano. I think my son taught her.

One of many things, I’m guessing.

Lil Diva started celebrating this 11 month mark by continuing this week’s trend of waking up early (between 6-6:30 AM) and depriving us of sleep…. again.  She made sure her naps today were of the Power Nap variety.  I blame her top tooth (which is nice and sharp now) and its mate that has yet to break the surface (but it’s very very close).

Have I said it enough yet?

I HATE TEETHING.  And we have one year molars in our future.

I’m thrilled.

We celebrated by doing our gym/pool/swimming lesson routine:

  • The Tackler and CG had their special one-on-one pool time while,
  • I did a Strike class (think kickboxing with weight gloves and bar) instead of hot yoga today.
  • The Tackler had swim lessons which were only moderately successful as three other kids joined class today. And if you turn your back on him, he’s off and running.
  • We then had family swim time. Lil Diva explored the indoor pool perimeter before getting suited up and splashing in the pool. Then I played with The Tackler while she helped CG walk laps and “surfed” on her belly on a kick board.

I wish I’d had a water proof camera to capture that. Lil Diva’s opinion of it wavered between “This is awesome!” to “OH MY GOD, WHAT ARE YOU MAKING ME DO?”

The Tackler’s favorite game was to use our foam water shooters as a wand to tap me on the head and alter me into a “different mommy.”  I later learned he also did this to CG.

It turns out, this is his way of reenacting Monsters Inc. movie where Randall changes every time he gets conked on the head.  The scene is HERE during the second half.

Which reminds me. I need to see if my son will act out the ending where Mike Wazowski is doing his stand up routine, then swallows the mic and belches. He performed the scene on on a bar stool at Rama’s 4th of July gathering and it had everyone rolling with laughter once we realized what exactly he was doing.

A future thespian, perhaps?

Speaking of the little devil, he’s requesting dinner.

Updated 7-20-11: The situation described in his swim lesson is why we switched to semi-private lessons. He just did not have the attention span to sit through four children to have a turn.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

