The Lucky Photographer

I’ve always loved taking photos, but it wasn’t until we purchased a SLR camera I truly got interested in photography.

I’m still clueless on most photo terms like F-stop and … See, I can’t even think of the name of the other setting I’m always altering.

Oh yeah. Aperture. Or is that same?

But you get my point. I’m not really a photography nut.  I just like the challenge of capturing the perfect shot, or at least interesting ones.

As Bobbi would say, I have the gift of luck.

I have improved since my son was born.

I frame my shots a bit better. I work with the natural light more. Sometimes I take a photo and immediately think “That would look much better in black and white.”

Friday was one of those times.

Lil Diva was wrestling a foam square from the ABC mat.  The mix of her being in focus and the foam being a blur (along with the nice contrast of her outfit today) just said black and white to me.

But that’s just me.

Here are some other shots from the same session but these didn’t yell “BLACK AND WHITE” to me like the one above.

And just so you can see what the real colors are…

Speaking of photos, I have five million picture frames in stacks all around the house, as I try to determine where on the walls to place them (it’s about time, I’ve only lived here for seven years)… This process takes about 100 times longer than it would’ve Before Children.

The number of frames would be greatly diminished too.

Update 7-19-11: Nearly one year later, and the frames are now mostly packed in boxes because I never got around to hanging them. Some day…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

