I’m gonna have to face it, I’m addicted to books…. and so are my children

I picked up a book at Barnes & Noble the other day. I started reading.

Lil Diva finally does more than just eat books.

It’s the first book I’ve “read” in over a year.

ME.  The same person who used to read almost every day. The same person who read book #5 of Harry Potter (the 800+ page one) in less than eight hours.

This is what happens when you have children.

I wouldn’t trade them for anything, but they are quite the time suck.  And in addition to sucking sleep, they have sucked the book reading time I used to have.

The taste of reading opened the rusty padlocked floodgates and now all I want to do is read.

And write.  Because the two have always been linked for me. The more I read, the more I want to write. The more I write, the more I want to read.

I even reread my old book (well, five chapters worth – it would take hours to read it all).

And now I want to fix it, but I lack the time.

And I have two books from the library by Meg Cabot that I’m itching to read.

The danger is my free time comes at night. When the kids are in bed. I WANT to open the book I started last week at Barnes and Noble (which is one of the books I checked out). But I have 300 pages left to read.  If I start now, I WILL be up until 3 AM.

Like an alcoholic taking that one forbidden sip.  They blink and the bottle is empty.

That’s me with books. I tell myself to stop at the end of the chapter. I blink, and five more have passed. And then I just have to finish that one and I’ll stop….

I can’t help it. It’s an ingrained childhood habit. When I started a book, all of my spare time went into finishing it, usually before the day was out, many times only stopping to eat. I learned the hazards of starting a new book after 9 PM.

CG reads with the kids.

Sometimes I long for the days when I could sleep until noon, but I’m lucky if I make it past 7 AM thanks to the kiddos.

I’m trying to pass on this love of reading to my children.  On a given day, my floors are littered with books as The Tackler and (now) Lil Diva pull them out of their boxes.

My son can easily lose himself in books for over thirty minutes.  Sometimes he demands to be read to. Sometimes he’ll help me read (there are several he knows verbatim) or add sound effects. Sometimes I’m yelled at to “go away” and he reads them on his own.

What I find exciting is the change in Lil Diva.  She used to sample the books via taste test, but now she’s paging through them, staring at them in such a way you can almost see the wheels turning. She loves to rub  the images (the Touch and Feel books, which The Tackler was neutral on, are her absolute FAVORITE).

Lil Diva actually turns the pages to "read" through the book now.

THEN she eats them before moving onto the next book.

Either way, my little girl devours the written word.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

