A New Tooth, Somersaults into Foam Pits, the Big Bro, and Fun Fish Painting

Lil Diva chomps on everything when teething.

I see it! I see it! I see it!

FINALLY, Lil Diva’s top middle right tooth is showing just the barest of white through the gums. Hopefully this means its mate is close behind and we can be done with the “evil” teeth for a while.  I just want a few months before the first year molars kick in. Is that too much to ask?

It’s been an interesting few days with The Tackler. This week has been a “sleeping in and not napping week”, and I’m not sure if I like it or not.
“>
On Tuesday he didn’t nap at all and his sister took a quick power nap. I KNEW if I stayed home I would be contemplating bodily harm to the tired, cranky monsters that would take over my children.

So I fled as if the dentist himself was after me (well, herself technically, but that just doesn’t sound right).

A shot from his 3rd birthday because I didn't dare take my camera when alone here with two children.

The problem is there are few places one can go for refuge in the Texas summer at 4 PM with two little ones. You can choose water (which is a bit too challenging at this age to watch both of them, as The Tackler will not just hang around his sister and she can move very fast if you turn your back), or air… conditioning.

We chose the latter and were off to our favorite bouncy place.

For once, everything went smoothly. Lil Diva was happy to explore and walk around.  The Tackler went kamikaze crazy and jumped, ran, and bounced his heart out.  He learned to somersault INTO the foam pit, courtesy of some much bigger kids.

The Tackler sets himself up to be... tackled..

Only two time-outs were given due to sister crashing.  Sadly, that’s not too bad for two hours of play time.
“My son is much improved this week over last.  Whatever “I’m not going to listen to anything you say and do whatever I want and what I want most is to knock over my sister and fill my diaper” he was infected with has subsided this week.

Lil Diva moves in for the "butt in the face" move as payback.

He actually had good playtime with his sister (although fifteen minutes is about as long as it lasts at a time before he starts making Lil Diva mad with what he deems should be fun for her).

After Lil Diva woke up from nap today he informed me what I was supposed to do.

“You have to set baby sister down on the carpet so she doesn’t bonk her head.  Take her paci out so she can laugh.  She needs her blue and her pink baby dolls so she’s happy.”

Who was this child and what has he done with My Son the Tackler???

He popped out her pacifier and started doing a wheezy silly laugh and she obliged in laughing back (this is their game).  I put her on the tile and he immediately gave her the baby dolls and then enticed her to follow him into the play room.

He actually seemed excited to play with his sister.

Did pigs start flying today and I missed it? Or have I been a horrible mother and forfeited play dates in favor of my gym time?

Ok, not sure on the first, but the latter is totally true. We haven’t done a play date in AGES. Usually they’re park dates, and the weather has been too hot. Between our trip to Iowa and to Colorado, we’ve been gone three weeks this summer. And I know of four friends who were out of town just this last week. ‘Tis the season….

I still feel guilty.  Not that we haven’t had bouncy fun, painting fun, book reading fun, train table fun, and pool fun just in the last week….  It doesn’t matter. The guilt remains.

Speaking of painting, Bobs was kind enough to watch Lil Diva yesterday so The Tackler and I could have our special time.  I’m trying to spend some quality time with each kid at least once a week without the other child around to distract us. Because everyone needs undivided attention sometimes.

So I asked my son what he wanted to do because we had an hour to kill until we could go painting. He picked Barnes and Noble because he is currently obsessed with trains again (mostly due to Chuggington cartoon that he got introduced to while staying with my friend Heather and family in Colorado).  So forty-five minutes of our special was spent with him completely ignoring me and being in the train playing “zone.”

Which I had to snap him out of to go painting. Which of COURSE he didn’t want to do now because we still hadn’t read books yet. It took fifteen minutes and a promise that if he was good he could go back with Daddy later that night to get him to leave.

So we went to a Marmalade Skies open session which we’ve never done before.  He was fascinated with all the things to choose from and the trays of beads and knick knacks to use for decorating. We searched the shelves and he decided he wanted to paint a fish (naturally, given the fish obsession). 

We were set up at table with supplies, put on a smock and apron, and went to town. The Tackler stuck with his normal decorating motif: use a little bit of EVERY color. I think there were twelve colors. The result was a true rainbow fish.  The photo just doesn’t do it justice.

He had a blast sorting through a tray of every sort of decorative item you could possibly want to glue on your project.  I did the gluing and he picked out what to glue on it.

The beads by its lips are “bubbles”.  The fish is hanging out in the “water” on his train table with the baby fish (which he also got at the place, but he did not want to glue them to the mommy fish, he wanted them to swim).

To top off this week, The Tackler is back “on again” for the potty training and we’ve had three very successful days!

Here’s hoping the pattern continues…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, Milestones, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

