Ode to the Gym

Today I learned that my gym, or at least parts of my gym would be closed in the near future for almost a week. For some, perhaps they would feel this was a cause for celebration. An excuse to NOT workout. My reaction was more like this:

WHAT??!!? NONONONO! You CAN’T close! I need you for my sanity!

After further clarification, it appears than only parts of it will be closed, so my sanctuary will at least partly be accessible to me.

It was then I realized I have truly become a workout class junkie (yes, Bobs, I know you’ve accused me of being just that many times). The signs have been there for quite a while, I’ve just ignored them.

1) Some mornings I count down the minutes until I can leave for the gym (these typically are the mornings that start WAY TOO EARLY – like when Kyra got up between 5:30-6:30 for a week).
2) I will schedule almost everything around classes I take at the gym. Errands, play dates, doctors appointments.
3) If one of the kids are sick, I will beg Dave to come home from work if it’s my dance jam class day (my favorite class). Seriously. I LOVE that class!
4) When I’m on vacation I actually MISS my gym. I miss it almost more than I miss my cats (because the gym DOES NOT puke on my carpets while I’m gone). I can’t wait to get back. In fact, on our drive back home from Des Moines (where there is not one of my gym’s within the ENTIRE STATE), we actually stopped at one that was just a few miles away from our route and WORKED OUT.  Who does that?  More importantly, who does that and ENJOYS it?

How did it become that which keeps me (mostly) sane?

I can only guess it began with the kept promise of allowing me to shower during the day. Before the gym (when Chase was a baby) and when Kyra was too young to go, I usually had to wait until Daddy got home from work to get a shower in (unless the stars perfectly aligned and put the universe in the “both are napping at the same time” balance… not a common occurrence). And if the night was particularly crazy, I was denied what was once the simplest of luxuries (although one could argue in the Texas summer, a shower is truly a necessity if you dare to leave the confines of your house for more than a few minutes).

But my gym… My gym grants me the time to do this EVERY DAY.

Yup.  That’s when the addiction started.

The working out part, that came later. I HATE working out on treadmills or other machines. Pretty much anything on my own (big props to my friends who DO do that for their exercise). It’s boring. It isn’t fun. I only do it in dire circumstances.

What I LOVE are the group fitness classes. I can do yoga (hot or regular), pilates, Zumba, Dance Jam, Step class, kick boxing, Strike class (think kickboxing with weights), strength class, cycling, and cardio/weight classes that will push me to the levels of a boot camp. You name it, they probably have a class for it.  These classes push me. Most are fun. Even if they fall more into the “kick your butt” variety, they get results and someone is pushing you to challenge yourself.

This I love.

That, and the two hour break. 🙂

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

