Bill Pay Fail and Chaos Children Daily Recap

Forget all the writing rules. Full sentences? Forgotten. A basic theme? No way. A flow from beginning to end? Not likely.

This is what happens when one child is always awake. There’s not time to brain storm or plan a witty storyline to a blog.

Even with the kids in bed it appears I still don’t get the time to write. In the time it took to compose the above, over an hour has passed.

Why, you might ask?

I had to pay my cell phone bill.

“But Kelly, that shouldn’t have taken more than five minutes.”

That would normally be a correct statement, had the following things not occurred:

1)  They made me change my password recently, and I couldn’t remember it, so once I finally gave up on recalling it, I had to jump through a plethora of hoops to reset the password before being able to log on.

2)  Then it wouldn’t accept the credit card number I tried to use to pay for it. And no, the card wasn’t bad, but Verizon’s payment system evidently was.

You see, I pay most bills online, and I use “virtual credit card” numbers. Basically I get a fake credit card number that I once used, will only work with that vendor, so if someone steals it, it won’t work anywhere else. You can also set monetary limits on it. You repeat this process for every vendor you want one for and the credit card company tracks it all for you. Normally, a very smooth running method to pay one’s bill.

For some reason Verizon’s “vendor name” keeps changing. And if it’s different, the old virtual number won’t work. Which meant once I figured out this was the problem and created a new one, another thirty minutes had passed.

Thanks to those little hiccups, my writing time is now cutting into bedtime, and sadly, I must go to bed. However, I am a procrastinator at heart, so I really do not wish to yield to the screaming voices telling me to go to sleep. And I really need to write.

Ok. Maybe I will listen, after a quick House of Chaos recap of today:

  • The Tackler actually played nicely with his sister this morning. He’s taken tips on how to “play” with her from KS (my friend’s five year old) and he “barricades” her in a spot with piles and piles of toys. For the most part, Lil Diva is down with that.
  • He also successfully had a deposit in the potty for me! Many of you may feel that is TMI. All I can say to that is, you obviously haven’t dealt with the pitfalls and frustrations of potty training yet, or you’d spontaneously break into the Happy Happy Joy Joy dance to share in my jubilation. It’s been well over six months of potty training and FINALLY, FINALLY we are seeing progress in that, uh, department. This makes me very happy.
  • The Tackler got another haircut and was very good for all but the last five minutes when the electric clippers came out. This time around he was terrified of them.  The time before that, with encouragement, he tolerated it. The time before that he was terrified of the clippers. And the time before that he was an angel and protested at nothing (recap of one year’s worth of haircuts). Prior to that, his hair was long and he’d been terrified of ALL haircuts. So progress is being made there as well, with a few setbacks along the way…
  • Lil Diva (when recently fed) was a very happy girl today. I had many hugs/cuddles and kisses/chomps bestowed upon me. And laughy giggles. Those are my favorite. Especially when my children play the laughing game (will discuss later). She no longer imitates Frankenstein when she walks. In the last 24 hours she’s progressed from that to actual WALKING. And she’s already getting fast, to her absolute joy. It enables her to more effectively chase the cats. I also feel that either she’s communicating better, or I am learning her “language” for what she wants. I asked to her to go get her baby doll tonight (it was about six feet away) and she did and brought it back to me!
  • I can see Lil Diva’s top right tooth ready to break free from her gums! Finally! She loves adult food and I can feed her so much more once there is an alternative to gumming her food to death. On the other hand, this will most likely end her fun of eating my chin…

Surveying the above recap, I realize I used the word “quick” much like Vizzini used “inconceivable” in The Princess Bride.

Ooops.

Good night.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, Milestones, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

