For the G-rents

I have decided to cross over to the dark side and start a blog. Why, you might ask, should you come across this oh so perfect package of pontification?

Three reasons.

1. I suffer from a horribly debilitating condition that has yet to have an official title, but is most commonly referred to as “Mommy brain.” This means my brain that once functioned like a steel trap, never letting a tidbit of information escape it, now can hardly recall what occurs on a daily basis. I need a written record to document things such as first steps and cool things my kids say, because let’s face it – I WILL FORGET IT. Most likely within five minutes of it happening. And Facebook has yet to have a cool “view archive” feature.

2. I love to write. I miss writing. I miss reading. These things called “children” tend eat away at the time I had for both. I want to write another book. I’d like to finish editing my old one. However, I will require more than 52 seconds of uninterrupted time to do so, and that so rarely occurs. So, this shall have to be my outlet so the condition listed in #1 does not erode what minuscule amount of writing ability I have left.

3. For the g-rents. My G-ma (yes you, G-ma) has internet. She has email. But I don’t have time to write long informative emails (see reason #2) for many people. I don’t have time to make phone calls to multiple people (see reason #2), and if I did, they are punctuated with loud interruptions on my side… constantly. Which makes it very hard for her to hear. The g-rents live 940 miles away, so stopping by for a quick visit is geographically impossible. And Facebook has just enough odd links to confuse G-ma and necessitate a very long conversation to get her back to the “beginning.”

So, G-ma, this blog is for you (and G-pa of course). This way I can hopefully find the time to post things that happen so you can keep up with our life and that of your great grandchildren.

And now off to solve the issue of having both children still awake at 10 PM. We’re still on “Fireworks Bedtime.”

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in blogger, G-rents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

