Ode to the Computer God: Happy 9th Anniversary

Most days he makes me laugh.

My husband and I enjoy Colorado before Christmas.

CG and me.

Sometimes he makes me sigh.

And during that hormonal time of month,

He can even make me cry.

His waist long hair is gone (shaved off),

That he grew from a young teen.

But even with a shiny scalp,

He’s the sexiest man I’ve seen.

The way he makes my children giggle,

The smiles brought to their eyes.

I know I chose the perfect man,

As he quiets their plaintive cries.

Sure, sometimes I want to strangle him,

Because of all the buttons he pushed.

But before I can plot his untimely death,

My murderous plans are shushed.

He gives me the look from long ago

And my insides start to swish.

I reread my engraved wedding band,

My husband surprised me at our wedding, by engraving the perfect thing on our wedding band: "as you wish".

Could he have picked anything more perfect?

The words, “As you wish.”

Through thick and thin, the smooth and rough,

Or being “mostly dead”.

He’s my CG—The Computer God,

Husband. Fab Father. The End.

Happy 9th wedding anniversary, honey!

***If you want to read more about us, or see images from years past, just click the link to read last year’s tribute.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Computer God, Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ode to the Computer God: Happy 9th Anniversary

  1. Love that your wedding band says “As you wish.” :)

  2. John says:

    Awww – happy anniversary! And what a wonderful inscription on the inside of your wedding band.

  3. That’s my very favorite movie…and there are no better three words to put on a ring.

    Happy anniversary, sweet friend. Cheers to enduring love.
    And to mawige. Which bwings us togever. Today.

    XO

    • Ah yes, The bwessed awangement…

      I love you for quoting the bishop. :)

      It was a wonderful evening.

      Of course, 24 hours later I find myself shacking up with a woman in Dallas for a writer’s conference while leaving him with the kids.

      Best. Present. Ever.

  4. Happy Anniversary. Such a sweet poem.

  5. janeggg says:

    love it and that wedding ring….oooooo love!!!!! great to stop by again from the linkup..i am at 3 and 5 this week xxxxx

  6. triciaraisinghumans says:

    Beautiful tribute to your guy and I love, love, love the inscription on your wedding band!

  7. Becki says:

    Happy anniversary. The shiny-scalped ones are the best, I think. And I absolutely love your wedding ring (as would my own shiny-scaled guy).

  8. Dawn says:

    Perfect. What a beautiful tribute. (-:

  9. Love this so much. And um yeah. Your dude’s a hottie. He rocks the bald head. Happy anniversary, Kelly! Here’s to 90 more years of joy. ;-)

  10. Gina says:

    GREAT poem!!! Congrats.

    “As you wish” is from one of my all time favorite movies…The Princess Bride. Love it.

Leave a Reply

