Texas Insanity is Contagious

Moving to Texas changes you.

Summers are ungodly hot, you learn to celebrate rainy days, and winter lasts about three days.

It has a certain effect on one’s sanity.

You contract Bluebonnet Fever.

Each spring the Texas state flower blooms. On wet years, it is everywhere. On dry years, it mimics the needle in the haystack.

Beginning in March, every Texan on facebook starts posting photos of their family sitting in a field of bluebonnets. Then every friend still lacking a bluebonnet photo questions the secret coordinates of the pictured field, so they too can photograph their family sitting in a patch of bluebonnets.

There is no time you are more likely to find a minivan pulled over on a road’s shoulder. Not because they are broken down, but because roadsides are where bluebonnets most often flourish.

I have joined in the bluebonnet insanity.

Austin is still a bluebonnet ghost town, so when I trekked the kiddos over an hour out of town (blog on that later) to a farm and found bursts of blue along the roadside, I vowed I would have my perfect bluebonnet photo.

Then we left the farm, two tired kiddos already glued to the magic of Puss ‘n Boots. I reconsidered the insanity of roadside photography during nap time.

I hadn’t driven a mile when I saw it: a minivan pulled over, children in a field of bluebonnets.

Just like that, I had to stop.

I slowed, pulling over next to a steep embankment further down the road, my normal practicality out the window.

Luckily, my children humored me….. after I promised we would immediately return to Puss ‘n Boots after I took some pictures.

Texas bluebonnets

"Sis, you can look anywhere but at the camera."

 Other than the inability to get two smiles at the same time, the five minute photo session went about as perfect as a 2 PM-nap-time-been-outside-two-hours-and-tired-session could.

"Mommy, you're just lucky you brought a movie for us to watch on the way home."

And my insanity quiets for another year…

 And the real reason for the insanity is this:

The bluebonnets of years passed.

Seeing how they grow and change each year.

* * *

For those wondering where this lovely bluebonnet spot was, it was close to the junction of 1431 and 1980 just outside of Marble Falls, just down the road from Sweet Berry farms.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Texas Insanity is Contagious

  1. My mother is also crazy about taking pictures of us. I have two younger brothers and even now that we’re older (middle brother is even married) we still troll every single picture she’s trying to take. My favorite is one of a holiday in the mountains where our parents almost literally had to drag us to a hike. The picture is three cranky boys refusing to even remotely look in the direction of the camera.

    • My son is already having bouts of being camera cranky.

      And Lil Diva? Acts sometimes like I’m a paparazzi, holding her hand up and saying, “NO!” Luckily other times she’s post and ham it up.

      The family photo you described sounds hilarious. :)

  2. Even college students aren’t immune! I can remember a group of us from Baylor searching out bluebonnets. Now I need to go find those pre-digital age pictures. :-)

  3. John says:

    At least that branch of insanity is easy to diagnose, and easily cured.

    You have, truly, beautiful children.

  4. Gorgeous! And the flowers are nice too.

  5. Sparky says:

    Heyy, we Texans are crazy, what can I say? lol

    Great photos, btw…the fact that they are often gazing off to the side instead of at the camera just makes them more interesting and fun. :)

    • I know their looks make it more “artsy” and I like that, but I also love one shot of them looking at the camera so I can see their eyes – I love their eye colors.

      Much better than the shot two years ago where most of the bluebonnets vanished before we made it out.

  6. skeptycal says:

    Out in California we have the orange Poppies. There is even a poppy festival near where I live. I grew up in Texas though, so I sure miss the Bluebonnets that come after those 3 days of winter =)

    • Do people in California hunt down poppy fields for photos?

      I do love how beautiful the roadsides become when they bloom and wish they lasted longer – their blue is so gorgeous.

      I’m guessing you still might only have three days of winter….

      • skeptycal says:

        I don’t think people in California have quite the drive and state pride that Texans do. I haven’t experienced it anyway. But some of us do drive around looking for good spots for photos =)

  7. I could so picture this whole scenario! I caught my first catfish in Marble Falls, btw. And yes – there is something magical about the blue bonnet. How I miss those roadside gardens.

  8. Pingback: Spring Pictures (1) | A German Expat's Life in Texas

Leave a Reply

