Hot for Teachers

Teachers have such power. To gift the love of learning. To inspire.

They can also destroy those things.

Today is all about teachers.

First off, I’m guest posting for Renee at Lessons from Teachers and Twits.

She’s been gathering guest posts about teachers: the good and the bad.

I went with The Good.

Mr. Wicks. Fourth Grade.

Please go visit Renee’s blog and check it out.

I’ll be commenting over there as well.

Meanwhile, Renee opened herself up at I Survived the Mean Girls – as a reformed Mean Girl.

She’s gutsy. And brave.

She also used her experience to change, and now has zero tolerance for bullying.

Thank you Renee, for facing your fears and your past to share your story and for letting me guest post at Twits!

A post this week wouldn’t be complete without me stepping on my soapbox for some more education.

My friend Bobbi learned last month how un-private some of facebook’s privacy settings are.  What unfolded was the inspiration for my Pay it Forward Challenge.Talking about coming out because facebook screwed up

Yesterday, for National Coming Out Day, I shared at Writing with Chaos exactly what happened when facebook privacy failed .

It was bad.

And then, something happeend.

Freedom.

It is something everyone should read.

Finally, to reward my parents for reading topics not related to my children, I have a terrible tale about The Tackler.

His MDO teacher is fabulous. I love her. If I could take her with us for the next four years to teach my kids, I would.

But his teacher went for a little trip last weekend.

She lost her voice.

Today she couldn’t talk much louder than a whisper.

Sound familiar?

And as every parent knows, with the loss of sound, you lose power. You cannot use The Voice when the boundaries are been nudged or smashed.

I’m hoping this was the issue on Tuesday.

Because the I’m Not Listening superpower was back, cranked to eleven again.

The first problem we’ve had at this school.

After several infractions and one smashed sand castle that was not his own, he was sent to The Office.

To the MDO equivalent of The Principal.

Is this a sign of things to come?

Can I go back to being mommy goo now?

* * *

If you’re visiting from Renee’s, welcome! If you are curious what this blog is about, here are some of my more popular posts about:

Locking your children in a cage.

How to explain to your spouse why your computer is so vital.

Top 10 things to say to a stay at home parent if you want to be fed to a Rancor.

Why there is more to October than just breasts.

What happens when I’m sentimental.

How Murphy loves to beat traveling parents with a baseball bat.

Why I wish the word “poop” could be removed from my vocabulary.

 

 

 

 

 

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Guest Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

