My Babies Are Rockin’

For some reason, I was up late last night.

All night.

It is now after 9 AM and I still haven’t slept.

I blame Shell at “Things I Can’t Say.” I’ve been meaning to link up for Rockin’ the Baby all week and just haven’t gotten around to it.

Nothing says newborn, like not sleeping all night…

Both of my children were born between 8 and 9 AM. You’d think they would be on a day schedule then.

I was past the point of exhaustion already - a new mom with a child who would only sleep while being held. But I loved those cuddles.

What it really meant is they hadn’t slept well the night before because of labor.

The only time my son slept for four hours straight – when not sleeping on a lap or in a car seat – was the four hours after he was born.

He was over two months old before he'd sleep in a crib longer than ten minutes.

The nurses insisted I wake up my peacefully sleeping baby girl to feed her. I wasted an hour of my possible sleep trying to wake her up…. so she could feed for five minutes.

Before he tackled and she mastered divaisms.

She nursed all night long.

My tiny Diva slept on my lap the day we brought her home. My feet were giant balls of water, and that night, The Future Tackler ran a fever. Two days later he had the croup cough.

The Tackler liked to sleep on your lap, or on your shoulder – just like his sister would.

The Tackler is sacked.

He was suprisingly gentle with his baby sister during the first few months. Until she started to sit, stand, and crawl.

Nothing warmed my heart like these moments. If only I'd known what was in my near future...

Then my sweet, tenacious toddler turned into the Tackler.

Nothing says four months old to my kids, like drool..

When The Tackler could only roll from back to tummy (and then get highly annoyed he was stuck there), and drooled. A lot.

And everything went into their mouths – an issue much more challenging with Lil Diva. It was so easy to keep the toys and choke-ables cleaned up when the only child couldn’t get them without your help…

Lil Diva gnawed on everything, including her big brother's tiny toys. She's still teething today, just the two year molars left.

Enjoying the park on his 6 month birthday.

My son always had a healthy appetite. He passed the 20 lb mark before his six month well check.

Lil Diva had the opposite problem. After beginning chunky, she stopped gaining weight between her two and four month check ups. She stopped nursing if the milk wasn’t forthcoming at high flow rates and spent a year with reflux spitting up.

Once she got the hang of solids, she gained five pounds in a month.

And outgrew all of her clothes.

Oh, and drooled even more, just like her big brother.

To shoot her six month photos, we had to wipe her face every minute because of all the drool.

I can’t believe how much they’ve changed.

The Tackler is almost 4.5 years old (a milestone he’s very excited about) and she turns two in two months.

Where did my babies go?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Babies Are Rockin’

  1. so precious, Kelly! we had reflux at our house, too. it totally sucked. as for the nursing? it didn’t work out for me with the twins, but i’m hoping it will with this baby. I may be beating your door down for advice!!

    xoxoxo

    • If there is anything I learned about nursing: The child controls 80% of it. The other 20% consists of a mom’s health and pure stubbornness to stick with it through the rougher times.

      I have the last quality in abundance. I’d be happy to loan you some.

  2. Shell says:

    Oh, they are so darling!

  3. so sweet. my kids are almost two, five and seven, and i still wonder daily… where’d my babies go!!!

  4. TheKirCorner says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous babies!!!! Oh those smiles are the cutest!!! You have a beautiful family Kel! Xo

    • I’m convince I have cute children so I’m not tempted to throw them back. Ahem. They are the masters of button pushing.

      However, they also are masters at causing warm fuzzing feelings, laughter, and moments I want to freeze in time – so it all balances out.

  5. Roxanne says:

    What a couple of cuties! My “baby” is almost 5 and has me wondering on a daily basis, when did he become a “kid”?

  6. I find I am almost unable to refer to my son as a “toddler” anymore. He has crossed into “preschooler”.

    Soon you’ll have a “when he get old enough to go to school” and then you’ll really be confused.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Adorable. And how did you look so gorgeous in your hospital pic? I was a wreck (seriously).

  8. Sweet angels, both. And I’m with Leanne -I’d only allow side shots when Luke was born because I looked so….trainwrecked. You make pretty people, Kelly. You gonna make more?

  9. I was thinking you were gorgeous in your post-birth shot, too.
    Obviously, lack of sleep looks good on you, lady.

    Like drool on your kids. Love those wet, slurpy grins.
    The best.

    Thanks for sharing a piece of it all with us…

Leave a Reply

