Capturing the True Fountain of Youth

Two days after our arrival to Iowa.

Son: Mommy, in twelve days we’re going back to Texas.

Me: No, we’re actually going back in five days.

Son: Why?

Me: Because we are only staying here for one week.

Son: I want to stay here.

Me: Why?

Son: Because Mimi loves me and I don’t want to leave.

Me & Mimi (my mother) in unison: Awww.

Mimi goes in for a hug with him.

Mimi (to me): That’d better make it into your blog.

——————-

Have there been some bumps in the road? Over the top meltdowns? At least one ear infection and doctor’s visit?

Naturally. Murphy wasn’t totally done with me yet.

Has this been a fun, enjoyable and amazing trip so far, even though I’m solo parenting?

Much to my surprise, it’s been one of my favorites.

Have I gone absolutely camera crazy and thanks to mother nature providing perfect light upon many occasions, captured an unfathomable amount of the beautiful, the hilarious, and the heart warming moments I hope my children look back on when they are grandparents?

YES.

Here are some of my favorite moments so far. Yes, it was almost impossible to narrow down the photos I used… (click on collage to see larger view).

I love how my g-rents revert to a younger age so they can play with my children. That's my G-pa at the top of the slide, and both g-rents riding the crocodile...

A lot of those included the “first hugs” and greetings of the trip. Also: rocket shooting, tunnel “echoing”, and other bonding time with the family. Priceless.

See the Tackler peeking in the background as Lil Diva tackles her Uncle...

The Tackler learned to play Trouble, and quickly became addicted. Lil Diva shows off her newly acquired Yo-Yo skills, just prior to the Great Yo-Yo Meltdown, and cackles in delight over Auntie K’s grand collection of puppy photos. Both children participate in a “duet” of sorts on Mimi’s piano.

Some lessons might be required.

Oh, but that is not all:

Lil Diva defies gravity thanks to my brother, gets a welcome kiss from G-ma, races after her brother (in the background) on the playground and also basks in the glow of six adults bathing her in their simultaneous attention. The Tackler loves the “new” playgrounds and G-pa “rides” the toy ATV.

My favorite photo is guaranteed to make you smile:

He turns 88 this year and requires a cane because of knee issues.

Some days walking a few blocks is too much, but for my kids, G-pa tried the toy ATV, the swing, the crocodile with G-ma, and even the curly slide.

Proof of the power of (great) grandchildren – they are the true fountain of youth.

For those small moments alone, this trip was worth it.

Happy Monday all!

Have you noticed someone unexpectedly “regressing to childhood” around your children?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Iowa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Capturing the True Fountain of Youth

  1. Aw, love the photos! Everyone looks so happy. I do like the last picture too, too cute :)

    My in-laws are like kids around my toddler. It’s great to watch! Glad to see you’re having a blast.

  2. Yasmin says:

    Aww! Those pics are fabulous! I wish I had your photo skills! Glad everyone had a good time. Its those moments that make it all ok. :)

    • It’s amazing how successful one can be when clicking hundreds (not a joke) of photos with an SLR camera and a good lens. :-)

      I’m so glad it was repaired before this trip, as my skills on a cell phone camera are quite horrendous.

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. kir says:

    What a gorgeous trip you are having!!!! Your pictures are just stunning and the pictures they tell even more so!

    And yes, my mom, my MIL and sister all trun into little children around my sons…they crawl on the floor , blow bubbles. Kick the ball and run around with them It’s so nice and heartwarming to see.

  4. Great pics, Kelly. Hard to tell who’s luckier: you and your kids or your family. Looks like everyone is savoring it. Thanks for sharing.

    • We are savoring it. The Tackler still gets upset each time I mention leaving…

      “This is our last night of sleep. We have to go on an airplane tomorrow.” (which he loves)

      “NO Mommy! We have to stay here 102 more days!”

      Tomorrow might not be pretty.

  5. Love the last photo. A kid hides in all of us!

  6. I love the pic of L’il Diva flying in the air. That is quite the toss! I’m so glad that you had a great trip. I think that last picture could win a contest! ;-)

    • Trip is still in process…

      My brother is the perfect launcher. I trust his reflexes a bit more than my dad’s….

      You should see this other one of him on the min ATV. It’s like my G-pa is fiver years old again, minus the cane.

  7. Kristina says:

    That pic of your grandfather on the slide? PRICELESS!!!

  8. educlaytion says:

    Ditto what Kristina said! That’s so phenomenal! And your bro got some serious air on Lil Diva. I was tossing my nieces yesterday and didn’t send em that high although I did present them to the rooftop ala The Lion King dedication scene. Have fun!

    • Sweet presentation. :-)

      My brother does get excellent air, she LOVED it.

      If you knew the knee issues he had, you’d truly know why I was amazed. It was a lovely thing to see, the joy on their faces. Sadly the photo of my G-ma on the slide didn’t turn out.

  9. My favorite was Lil Diva draped over you on the swing…until I saw G-pa on the slide.

    Done.

    I am going to see my parents and grandparents this weekend. My grandmother is 87 and my grandfather is 92.

    Bring on the Fountain of Youth.

    • Actually, that’s my sister swinging with Lil Diva – I’m the one snapping the photos. :-) It was adorable, and I know it made my sister happy, as she rarely gets to see her niece and nephew.

      Just watch for the Fountain of Youth on your trip. It’s magical, though I’ve found it is more powerful with the wee ones. Something about their giggles…

      Have a safe, Murphy-free trip!

  10. amydeneson says:

    Beautiful life. Beautiful spring. Love to all of you.

  11. Those are so sweet! The last one is definitely teh awwwsome. :D

  12. John says:

    I am so glad to hear things are going well . . . though I wouldn’t have believed you if you had said they were going perfectly.

    Keep up the pics :-)

  13. Leigh Ann says:

    I love that picture! As well as the others. Look like you had a great time.

    • Still having a great time. A part of me is wishing I’d planned to stay longer, but I had no idea it would go so well. The mostly nice weather has helped greatly.

      Not looking forward to returning to the almost 100 degree weather..

  14. Annie says:

    Love this! My mom dove on a slip ‘n slide once with all her clothes on. She was about 60 at the time. My kids loved it! Crazy.

  15. Pingback: The Hellcat’s Greatest Hits « Some Species Eat Their Young

Leave a Reply

