Not a Morning Person

It can be beautiful.  Peaceful. Gorgeous. Spectacular.

Or Dreary. Gray. Depressing.

I just prefer to never see it, especially in the summer time when it happens Way Too Early.

The sunrise.

Give me a sunset any day. At least those have the common courtesy to occur at a decent hour.

I am not one of those insane Morning People. I am convinced they are simply aliens sent here years ago to settle the planet in a grotesque experiment to see if they could ruin an entire race by propagating the belief that mornings (and sunrises) should be witnessed.

I prefer to live on the opposite side of the coin: that of the Night Owl. I have been this way since birth.  Just ask my mother.

I have made allowances along the way. I had to go to school. I had psychotically early basketball practice in 7th grade (as in, it started at 6:30 AM). I had a job that required Business Hours (I will never forgive the aliens for that one). And any parent knows young children and Sleeping In are two things that rarely coexist.

That being said, I am the only one awake.  And my cats.

That being typed, I’m certain a child will soon rise.

But today… Today I’ve been up since 5:30, WAY before the dreaded hour of sunrise. I attempted to return to sleep.

My body refused to let me.

I’m not sure if it’s insomnia or simply the pain and tenderness under my armpit, where milk has pooled and is anxiously awaiting the feeding of Lil Diva, that keeps me from the blissful oblivion of sleep.  I rarely succeed in sleeping when they are on Full. Rather like my stomach refuses to let me if on Empty.

It makes dropping nursing feedings agonizing.  Even going at snails pace.

The sky is brighter now, but the sun has yet to fully show.

Footsteps. Shaft the Cat? Or Tackler the Kid?

Oh, just the cat.

Lil Diva stirs…. and quiets.

Naturally, one of the few times when I don’t wish her to drift back to sleep.

I need a nap. I’m hoping my brain won’t be too awake when she does finally wake up and this excess fluid is extracted. Because I really… really.. need more sleep.

It’s a Sunday. Anything can happen.

After all, I blogged before 8 AM. Before 7 AM…

And there is the sun.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in sleep deprivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

